To install this webapp, tap share then Add to Home Screen.


To install this webapp, please open in Safari.

HASC Stands Up New Defense Task Force

U.S. Capitol
U.S. Capitol
Washington Report

A bipartisan task force will review U.S. defense assets and capabilities and assess the state of the national security innovation base to meet emerging threats.

The Future of Defense Task Force was created by the House Armed Services Committee last week. It will be co-chaired by Rep. Seth Moulton, D-Mass., and Rep. Jim Banks, R-Ind.

Other members include Rep. Susan Davis, D-Calif.; Rep. Chrissy Houlahan, D-Pa.; Rep. Elissa Slotkin, D-Mich.; Rep. Scott DesJarlais, R-Tenn.; Rep. Paul Mitchell, R-Mich.; and Rep. Michael Waltz, R-Fla.

According to officials, the HASC chairman, Rep. Adam Smith, D-Wash., and the committee’s ranking member, Rep. Mac Thornberry, R-Texas; initiated the task force to examine Department of Defense strategic priorities, capabilities and operational concepts “to ensure the national security innovation base is poised to meet long-range emerging threats and the rise of global competitors.”

The task force will meet for three months with the option of renewal for an additional three months.

The group’s first hearing will be on Tuesday, Oct. 29 at 10 a.m. in the Rayburn House Office Building.