To install this webapp, tap share then Add to Home Screen.


To install this webapp, please open in Safari.

Commission Cuts List of Potential New Base Names

Base Names WR
Base Names WR
Washington Report

The federal Naming Commission has released a list of 87 potential names for nine posts named for Confederate generals.

The list was selected from 3,670 unique names the congressionally mandated commission received via its website and during commission visits to the posts and surrounding communities, according to a Thursday press release.

The Army posts being renamed are Fort A.P. Hill, Virginia; Fort Benning, Georgia; Fort Bragg, North Carolina; Fort Gordon, Georgia; Fort Hood, Texas; Fort Lee, Virginia; Fort Pickett, Virginia; Fort Polk, Louisiana; and Fort Rucker, Alabama.  

Fort Pickett is a Virginia Army National Guard installation and home of the Army National Guard Maneuver Training Center.

“It’s important that the names we recommend for these installations appropriately reflect the courage, values and sacrifices of our diverse military men and women,” said retired Adm. Michelle Howard, the chair of the commission. “We also are considering the local and regional significance of names and their potential to inspire and motivate our service members.”

The list includes some names with ties to the Guard. They include Sgt. Henry Johnson, a member of the New York Guard’s 369th Infantry Regiment, the Harlem Hellfighters, who earned the Medal of Honor in World War I, and T/Sgt. Frank Peregory, a Virginia Guardsmen who received the nation’s highest award for valor in World War II. 

Also on the list are Gen. John Vessey Jr., the chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff from 1982-1985, who began his military career in the Minnesota Guard, and Maj. Audie Murphy, another World War II Medal of Honor recipient. He served in the Texas Guard after the war. 

Other notable names are Gen. Omar Bradley, President Dwight Eisenhower and Gen. Colin Powell.

Created by the fiscal 2021 National Defense Authorization Act, the commission is authorized to make recommendations on military assets — installations, ships, buildings, roads, etc. — that honor Confederate States of America leaders.  

The commission’s full name is the Commission on the Naming of Items of the Department of Defense that Commemorate the Confederate States of America or Any Person Who Served Voluntarily with the Confederate States of America.

Commissioners plan to have more engagements with post officials and their communities to discuss the names. They will send their final recommendations and a renaming plan to the House and Senate Armed Services committees by Oct. 1.

Below is the complete list of potential names from the press release:   

John Aiso
Alexander Augusta
Vernon Baker
Van Barfoot
Powhatan Beaty
Roy Benavidez
Omar Bradley
Ruby Bradley
William Bryant
Jose Calugas
William Carney
Alwyn Cashe
Richard Cavazos
Cornelius Charlton
Charles Chibitty
Ernest Childers
Mary Clarke
Mitchell Red Cloud
Harold Cohen
Felix Conde-Falcón
Bruce Crandall & Ed Freeman 
Benjamin Davis Sr.
Ernest Dervishian
Desmond Doss
Charity Earley
Dwight Eisenhower
Marcario García
James Gavin
Eduardo Gomez
Gary Gordon & Randall Shughart
Arthur Gregg
Barney Hajiro
Kimberly Hampton
Anna Hays
Rodolfo Hernández
Robert Howard
Lawrence Joel
Henry Johnson
Hazel Johnson-Brown
Charles Kelly
Mildred Kelly
Charles Kettles
Milton Lee
José López
John Magrath
George Marshall
Frank Merrill
Jimmie Monteith
Hal & Julia Moore
Sadao Munemori
Audie Murphy
Michael Novosel Sr.
Elsie Ott
John Page
Emmett Paige Jr.
Frank Peregory
Emily Perez
Pascal Poolaw
Colin Powell
Ralph Puckett
Matthew Ridgway
Ruben Rivers
Roscoe Robinson Jr.
Tibor "Ted" Rubin
James Rudder
Alejandro Ruiz
Benjamin Salomon
Ruppert Sargent
Paul Smith
Donn Starry
Freddie Stowers
Jon Swanson
Central Texas
Charles Thomas
Hugh Thompson Jr.
Harriet Tubman
Humberto Versace
John Vessey Jr.
Francis Wai
Mary Walker
George Watson
Homer Wise
Rodney Yano
Alvin York
Charles Young
Rodger Young

For more information on the commission, go to www.thenamingcommission.gov.