To install this webapp, tap share then Add to Home Screen.


To install this webapp, please open in Safari.

January 2019 Update

NGAUS on the Hill

The 116th Congress convened on January 3 and all members of Congress were sworn in. The House of Representatives elected Rep. Nancy Pelosi (D-CA) as Speaker of the House. The House selected its committee leadership, however it has not released full committee rosters.

Rep. Adam Smith (D-WA) is expected to chair and Rep. Mac Thornberry (R-TX) is expected to be ranking member of the House Armed Services Committee. Rep. Pete Visclosky (D-IN) is expected to chair and Rep. Ken Calvert (R-TX) is expected to be ranking member of the House Appropriations Defense Subcommittee. Membership on the aforementioned committees is to be determined.

The Senate announced all members of the Senate Armed Services Committee (SASC). Republican members include Chairman James Inhofe (OK), Sens. Roger Wicker (MS), Deb Fischer (NE), Tom Cotton (AR), Mike Rounds (SD), Joni Ernst (IA), Thom Tillis (NC), Dan Sullivan (AK), David Perdue, (GA), Kevin Cramer (ND), Martha McSally (AZ), Rick Scott (FL), Marsha Blackburn (TN), and Josh Hawley (MO).

Democratic members include Ranking Member Jack Reed (RI), Sens. Jeanne Shaheen (NH), Kirsten Gillibrand (NY), Richard Blumenthal (CT), Mazie Hirono (HI), Tim Kaine (VA), Angus King (ME), Martin Heinrich (NM), Elizabeth Warren (MA), Gary Peters (MI), Joe Manchin (WV), Tammy Duckworth (IL), and Doug Jones (AL).

NGAUS legislative staff continues to engage with returning and is beginning to engage with new members of Congress on important National Guard issues. This includes concurrent and proportional fielding of equipment to the National Guard, access to robust health care for all National Guard personnel, and modernization and recapitalization of National Guard platforms to ensure safety, reliability, and Total Force interoperability.