2016 Award Recipients

The NGAUS Awards Program is designed to recognize individuals and organizations who, by superior performance, acts of heroism or meritorious service, make a contribution to the goals of NGAUS, to the purpose and effectiveness of the broader National Guard or to the stability and security of the United States of America. 
Information Request Form  Past Recipients

NGAUS will reimburse the $165 conference registration fee for individual award winners. Names of individual honorees planning to receive their awards in person should be provided to the Awards Program Manager via email at awards@ngaus.org by August 15

Due to time constraints, certificates will not be presented at the conference. Instead, they will be forwarded through the states for local presentation. 

Unit Awards will be presented during the Air and Army Separate Sessions on September 12.

Harry S. Truman

Gen. Mark A. Welsh III (Ret), Texas

Montgomery Medal

Sen. Mazie Hirono, Hawaii

Sen. Barbara Mikulski, Maryland

Sen.  Jon Tester, Montana

Charles Dick Medal of Merit

Gov. Rick Scott, Florida

Gov. Eddie B. Calvo, Guam

Sen. Brian Schatz, Hawaii

Gov. Lawrence "Larry" Hogan, Maryland

State Sen. Sue Crawford, Nebraska

Gov. Maggie Hassan, New Hampshire

Gov. Susana Martinez, New Mexico

Patrick Henry Award

Neil McKiernan, Connecticut

Leigh Leilani Graham, Guam

Sean Callahan, Hawaii

Steve Newton - Mission BBQ, Maryland

William Kraus - Mission BBQ, Maryland

Chaz Johnson, Minnesota

Glenna Smith, Nevada

Brig. Gen. Robert Herbert, Nevada

Northern Nevada International Center, Nevada

Rep. Joe Heck, Nevada

State Rep. Chris Whitmire, North Carolina

Superintendent Jillian Balow, Wyoming

Distinguished Service Medal

CW5 John C. Vitt (Ret), Arizona

Brig. Gen. William D. DeHaes, Iowa

Maj. Gen. Augustus Collins, Mississippi      

Col. Felix Castagnola, Nevada 

Meritorious Service Award

CW4 Jack Scarbrough (Ret), Arkansas

Brig. Gen. Harold (Hal) Keistler (Ret), Illinois

Col. James A. Smith (Ret), Illinois

Capt. Matthew B. Schneider, Illinois

Maj. Gen. William Cobetto (Ret), Illinois

Lt. Col. Mayb Sersland, Maryland

1st Lt. Ashley Klase, Ohio

Maj. Jeffrey Zetzer, Ohio

Maj. Neils C. Barner, Oregon

Lt. Col. Glenda Mathurin-Lee, Virgin Islands

Meritorious Service Certificate

Capt. Linden E. Allen, Illinois

Maj. Steve Bohl, North Dakota

Valley Forge Cross for Heroism

Senior Master Sgt. Jeff Ginther, California

Pfc. Jesse Hernandez, California

Sgt. 1st Class Michael G. Long, California

1st Lt. Jonathon W. Morales, Indiana

Sgt. Kyle Stephens, Nevada

Spc. Michael Knight, Nevada

Spc. Jonathan M. Sweeney, Oregon

Tech Sgt. Erich Sanford, Wisconsin

Valley Forge Cross Certificate

CW3 Nathan Champion, California

Master Sgt. Terry Kots, Nevada

Garde Nationale Trophy

Lt. Col. Eric A. Schadler, Oregon

Theodore Roosevelt Leadership Award for Company Grade Officers

Capt. Janelle T. Guillebeau, Arkansas

Capt. Robert R. McCoy, Arkansas

Capt. Brandon Cochran, Iowa

1st Lt. Joshua Sprague, Iowa

Capt. Jennifer Vogt, Kansas

Capt. James M. Bunyard, Mississippi

Capt. Donald Crandell, Nevada

Capt. Michael Schiemer, Nevada

Capt. Joseph Smith, New Hampshire

Capt. Christopher Blair, North Carolina

Capt. Jeff Hovdenes, North Dakota

Capt. Matthew Blackburn, Ohio

Capt. Phillip Patti, Ohio

1st Lt. Dominic J. Thornberg, Oregon

Capt. Eric R. Dunford, Wisconsin

Capt. Ubaldo Nieves, Wisconsin

Eagle Rising Award for Warrant Officers

CW2 James L. Stanley, Arkansas

CW3 Bernard L. Aguon, Guam

CW2 Travis Jacobs, Kansas

CW2 Sarah L. Smith, Mississippi

CW3 Lloyd Allen, Nevada

CW2 Linda Horton, North Carolina

CW3 Galen Roness, North Dakota

Army National Guard

Major General Milton A. Reckord Trophy

153rd Engineer Battalion, South Dakota

Certificate of Victory

Charlie Company, 1st Battalion, 189th Aviation, South Dakota

Pershing Plaque

82nd Civil Support Team, South Dakota

HHD 1030th Transportation Battalion, Virginia

Air National Guard

Spaatz Trophy

127th Wing, Michigan

Distinguished Flying Unit

114th Fighter Wing, South Dakota

142nd Fighter Wing, Oregon

148th Fighter Wing, Minnesota

173rd Fighter Wing, Oregon

Mission Support Trophy

174th Attack Wing, New York

Distinguished Mission Support

105th Mission Support Group, New York

123rd Air Control Squadron, Ohio

180th Mission Support Group, Ohio

200th RED HORSE, Ohio

219th RED HORSE, Montana

William W. Spruance Safety Award

142nd Fighter Wing, Oregon

Winston P. Wilson Trophy

115th Fighter Wing, Wisconsin

Major General John J. Pesch Flight Safety Award

115th Fighter Wing, Wisconsin

189th Airlift Wing, Arkansas