Montgomery Medal


The Montgomery Medal, first presented in 2004, provides a mechanism to recognize an individual (or organization) who provides outstanding support in the pursuit of the NGAUS objectives.


The award bears former Rep. Sonny Montgomery’s likeness on a five-sided medal.  The shape is intended to symbolize not only his contributions to the Guard, but the entire Unites States military and veterans.  The medal is constructed in high relief to give the medal a look of great depth and dimension as opposed to a flat strike.  The Capitol Dome rises from the top of the medal. “G.V. Sonny Montgomery” is inscribed at the top with “NGAUS” inscribed at the bottom and two stars on two of the sides.  The medal is attached to a red and white ribbon.


Any individual (elected official, staffer or private citizen) or organization who/which renders outstanding support to the pursuit of the NGAUS purposes and objectives, as stated in the Association by-laws.

Nominations and Selection Procedures

Any member of the Awards Committee, the Board of Directors or an elected officer of NGAUS, state association President or Adjutants General may nominate an individual or organization to receive this award.
An individual or organization may not receive more than one Montgomery Medal. Only one Montgomery Medal may be given in a single calendar year.  However, if in the view of the Awards Committee or the Board of Directors, no individual or organization has met the requirements of the award, no award will be given.
Information Packet

Sample Nomination Submission

Montgomery Medal Sample

Past Recipients

2004: TRM Corporation, Oregon
2005: Senator Mary L. Landrieu, Louisiana
2006: U.S. Rep. Dave Hobson, Ohio
2007: Lt Gen John B. Conaway
2008: U.S. Rep. Jim Saxton, New Jersey
2009: LTG H Steven Blum
2010: Gov. Sonny Perdue, Georgia
2011: None
2012: U.S. Rep. Marcy Kaptur, Ohio
2013: Senator Joe Manchin, West Virginia
2014: Senators John Boozman, Arkansas & Harry Reid, Nevada
2015: U.S. Rep. Madeleine Z. Bordallo, Guam
2016: Sen. Mazie Hirono, Hawaii
          Sen. Barbara Mikulski, Maryland
          Sen.  Jon Tester, Montana