Rep. Nick Rahall Awarded the NGAUS Harry S. Truman Award

(Feb. 18, 2013) Retired Maj. Gen. Gus L. Hargett Jr., the NGAUS president, presented the NGAUS Harry S. Truman Award, the association’s highest honor, to Rep. Nick Rahall, D-W.Va., today during Veterans’ Visibility Day recognition ceremonies in the House Chamber at the West Virginia State Capitol in Charleston, W.Va.

(L to R: Retired Maj. Gen. Gus L Hargett Jr., the NGAUS president; Woody Williams, Medal of Honor recipient; Maj. Gen. James Hoyer, the adjutant general of West Virginia; Rep. Nick Rahall; retired Maj. Gen. Allen Tackett, the former adjutant general of West Virginia)

“I humbly accept this award to remind me that my commitment to you is not finished,” said Rahall. “Where would the nation be without the citizen-soldier?”

NGAUS normally presents no more than one award annually. This past year, there were co-recipients: Rep. Candice Miller, R-Mich., and Rahall for their efforts for Guard Empowerment.

In 2011, the two lawmakers co-sponsored legislation to elevate the chief of the National Guard Bureau to a seat on the Joint Chiefs of Staff. The bill later passed the Senate and was signed by President Barack Obama as part of the fiscal 2012 National Defense Authorization Act on Dec. 31, 2011.

“The Truman Award is more than just our association’s highest honor. It is recognition of inclusion in a special fraternity of patriots, people who have made a difference in the institutions that defend our nation,” said Hargett.

“Nick Rahall is just that kind a patriot,” he said.

The Harry S. Truman Award, authorized by the NGAUS Board of Directors in 1968, is the highest recognition conferred upon an individual by the Association.  Recipients have made sustained contributions of exceptional and far-reaching magnitude to the defense and security of the United States in a manner worthy of recognition at the national level. Past recipients include Presidents, Generals and other members of Congress.

Nominations for 2013 awards will open later this month. Learn more about the NGAUS awards program at