Nine Guardsmen Join Medal of Honor Gallery

NGAUS Washington Report

(Jan. 28, 2014) Nine National Guardsmen from Hawaii will be added to the Medal of Honor Gallery today at the National Guard Memorial in Washington, D.C. The nine include eight who fought in World War II and one who saw action in the Korean War.
All had been awarded Distinguished Service Crosses, but the awards were later upgraded to the nation’s highest military honor. The World War II veterans were upgraded in 2000 and the Korean War veteran’s status was upgraded in 2011.
Lt. Col. Mark Takai of the Hawaii National Guard Association will say a few words at the ceremony. A plaque with the nine names will be unveiled by Maj. Gen. Darryll Wong, the adjutant general of Hawaii.
The Medal of Honor recipients from World War II are Pvt. Mikio Hasemoto, Pvt. Shizuya Hayashi, Tech. Sgt. Yeiki Kobashigawa, Pfc. Kaoru Moto, Pvt. Masato Nakae, Pvt. Shinyei Nakamine, Capt. Francis Brown Wai and Staff Sgt. Allan M. Ohata. The Korean War veteran honored is Pfc. Anthony T. Kahoohanohano.
The Medal of Honor Gallery in the NGAUS headquarters is administered by the National Guard Educational Foundation.