Missouri TAG Elected NGAUS Chairman

Via NGAUS Washington Report

(Sept. 18, 2012) Maj. Gen. Stephen L. Danner, who has served as the adjutant general of Missouri for nearly four years, was elected NGAUS chairman of the board during the 134th General Conference and Exhibition last week in Reno, Nev.

“I’m honored and humbled by the confidence you have placed in me,” he said moments after the conference accepted the election results.

Danner became chairman after a contested election ended with none of the three candidates receiving at least half of the votes, which, according to NGAUS bylaws, requires a runoff between the top two vote-getters.

Danner received 413 votes. Maj. Gen. Gregory Vadnais, the adjutant general of Michigan, received 299 votes. Maj. Gen. William R. Burks, the adjutant general of Nevada, garnered 222 votes.

But Vadnais and Burks both conceded the election and Danner became the chairman without another vote. He follows Maj. Gen. Frank Vavala, who had served for two years.

At the States Dinner that closed the conference Wednesday evening, Danner said, “Contested elections, I think, are good for associations.”

He thanked Vadnais and Burks for running good and positive campaigns and said they will provide valuable help to him as chairman.

“This is how we do things in NGAUS,” he said. “We debate. We discuss. And then we move ahead together.”

Retired Brig. Gen. Kenneth L. Ross of Louisiana will continue as treasurer after running unopposed. Col. Murray Hansen of Georgia will remain as the secretary. He, too, had no opponent in the election.

Maj. Gen. Donald P. Dunbar, the adjutant general of Wisconsin, is the new NGAUS vice chairman-Air. Maj. Gen. Deborah A. Ashenhurst, the adjutant general of Ohio, is the new NGAUS vice chairman-Army.

In board elections, Area III returns to the board all three sitting members, Maj. Gen. Emmett R. Titshaw Jr. of Florida, Lt. Col. Jimmie Cole of Tennessee and Brig. Gen. Robert Hamrick of Alabama. Area VI elections returned Maj. Gen. Raymond Rees of Oregon and retired Maj. Gen. Daniel B. O’Hollaren of Oregon. Col. John Lathrop of California defeated retired Col. Raymond Jardine of Hawaii.


Add new comment